El Elefante Encadedano II

Please give me strength to dare and be
forgive if I stumble in this rumble
cause I never felt metal around my ankle nor my skin
and I never was enchained, I’ve never been…

like this little elefant
never bound to stay but pushed to go
never sound and safe but rather asked to show
how and where to turn, as if I’d know?

There’s never been a picket, no trunk
next to me deeply in the ground and sunk,
No chain, no wire and no thread
around my ankle and not around my head.

The little elefant considered him to be weak
and so I feel in these words as I do speak
cause I know about my ability to be ‘strong’
and to admit when I was wrong

But instead of forgetting about my potency
I’m not complaining to be free to cross the open sea
but it’s so …?….to play safe in what I seek
its way more powerful daring to be weak.

Leave a Reply

